Full accreditation to our university by YÖKAK for 5 years

Within the scope of the Institutional Accreditation Program implemented by the Higher Education Quality Board (YÖKAK) to increase the quality of higher education institutions and contribute to quality assurance, 30 universities, including our university, were entitled to receive Institutional Accreditation.

With the decision taken at the YÖKAK Board meeting in April, Abdullah Gül, Altınbaş, Bahçeşehir, Bolu Abant İzzet Baysal, Bursa Teknik, Bursa Uludağ, Çağ, Çukurova, Doğuş, Fırat, Gazi, Hacettepe, Harran, İstanbul Arel, İstanbul Beykent, İstanbul Okan, İstanbul Sabahattin Zaim, İzmir Economy, İzmir High Technology, Kadir Has, Manisa Celâl Bayar, Middle East Technical, Özyeğin, Sabancı, Süleyman Demirel, Tekirdağ Namık Kemal, Trakya, Uşak, Van Yüzüncü Yıl and Zonguldak Bülent Ecevit universities are accredited under the 2022 Institutional Accreditation Program.

“An important gain for the Turkish higher education quality assurance system”

YÖKAK Vice President Prof. Dr. Mustafa Çufalı stated that the Institutional Accreditation Program (KAP) has become one of the important elements of the quality assurance of the Turkish higher education system, and the program ensures the quality assurance of higher education institutions; He noted that he evaluated them for all areas of activity such as leadership, governance and quality, education and training, research and development, and social contribution.

Stating that the KAP was carried out according to the criteria determined by YÖKAK, Prof. Dr. Mustafa Çufalı stated that higher education institutions that meet these criteria adequately are given full accreditation for 5 years, and higher education institutions that meet these criteria at a partial level are given conditional accreditation for 2 years. Prof. Dr. Çufalı stated that in the Higher Education Institutions Exam (YKS) Higher Education Programs and Quotas Guide held by the Measurement, Selection and Placement Center (ÖSYM), the information of higher education institutions that are institutionally accredited by YÖKAK is shared with the public.

Advantages of Institutional Accreditation

Giving information about the prominent aspects of a university with Institutional Accreditation compared to other universities, Prof. Dr. Çufalı said, “A higher education institution that has received the Institutional Accreditation certificate from YÖKAK establishes the relevant mechanisms to ensure that the targets promised to the public in its main fields of activity are achieved. Universities run, monitor and improve a significant part of them well. Participation of all internal and external stakeholders is considered important. Student feedback is particularly taken into account and reflected in decision-making processes. Curriculums are systematically updated on the basis of the requirements of the information age, changing student characteristics and student-centered learning. Efforts are made to continuously improve learning resources and faculty competencies. The research competencies of the institution are being developed and social contribution activities are systematically addressed.” Prof. Dr. Çufalı also thanked all the stakeholders who contributed to the process.

Universities with Full Accreditation for 5 Years

Gazi University
Hacettepe University
Middle East Technical University
Ozyegin University
Sabanci University

Universities Receiving Conditional Accreditation for 2 Years

Abdullah Gul University
Altinbas University
Bahcesehir University
Bolu Abant İzzet Baysal University
Bursa Technical University
Bursa Uludag University
Cag University
Cukurova University
Dogus University
Firat University
Harran University
Istanbul Arel University
Istanbul Beykent
Istanbul Okan University
Istanbul Sabahattin Zaim University
Izmir University of Economics
Izmir High Technology University
Kadir Has University
Manisa Celal Bayar University
Suleyman Demirel University
Tekirdag Namık Kemal University
University of Trakya
Usak University
Van Yüzüncü Yıl University
Zonguldak Bulent Ecevit University